WhatsApp Delete for Everyone known as recall message is Out| How it works

The long awaited WhatsApp’s recall message feature known as Delete for Everyone feature is now here. WaBetaInfo, has announced that the chat app is finally rolling out the feature to Android, iOS and Windows phone users.

Starting today, iOS, Android and phone users can recall the wrongly sent messages or messages are sent mistakenly to a friend or in group chat. WaBetaInfo notes that the roll out is slow and both the recipient and sender should be on the same updated version of WhatsApp to get the feature working. The feature works for GIFs, texts, images, voice messages, locations, stickers (in future), contact cards, quoted messages and status updates.

“Deleting messages for everyone features on Whatsapp feature allows users to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” WhatsApp informs users through a FAQ.

“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted‘ in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see the message as ‘This message was deleted‘ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone,” notes WhatsApp.

Although this features was active in Whatsapp mod as Whatsapp recall features,  the feature will gradually roll-out to over 1 billion WhatsApp users, it may take up to a week or even more before it shows up in the WhatsApp in your phone.

How To Use Whatsapp ‘Delete For Everyone’ Feature

To use this feature, press the trash symbol . Alongside

Delete for Everyone, you will also see the Delete for Me option, if they only want to delete the message from their phone then do the selection base on what you want.

WABetainfo said that WhatsApp at the moment does not recall a message contained in a quoted message. Messages cannot be deleted for everyone if they are sent in a broadcast list. It also adds that messages will not be deleted on the Symbian app , so those users will continue to see the recalled message. The site adds that in its current implementation, WhatsApp will not notify the user that the message has been deleted.

NOTE : This feature is rolling out to everybody but you have to update your Whatsapp to the latest version.

The Delete for Everyone feature doesn’t work for the following reasons:

√ Message contained in a quoted message cannot be revoked.

√ It’s not possible to delete for everyone messages sent in a Broadcast List.

√ Messages can be recalled only within a 7 minutes of time frame after which you cannot recall or revoke it.

√ The feature works only if both sender and receiver are using the updated version of WhatsApp. WhatsApp will enable the delete for everyone feature working for older versions too, but obviously not for very old version where Delete for Everyone hasn’t been implemented yet. — The feature does not work for Symbian OS.

The feature is a slow roll out. You may receive the activation message any time but in case you don’t then uninstall and reinstall the app. You can also go to WhatsApp’s Setting> Chats>Backup and perform it.

Read Also

How to Use Whatsapp Recall Features to delete sent Whatsapp Messages

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here